I have Seen Angels, Part 1

It was a few winters ago. My two children and I were travelling from Medicine Hat to Lethbridge  when I heard this weird scraping on the underside of van. I decided to stop at the Domo service station in Bow Island to check what the problem was.

BowIsland2

I noticed right away that the wheel wells were completely filled with snow to the point of scraping the tires. I called my husband to let him know and ask what he thought I should do. I was trying to kick some of the snow out of there when an older man came up to me. He asked me what the problem was. He seemed very kind, and really interested in helping. I told him that the snow was kicked up under there when I was driving and it had frozen underneath so it was impossible to go on. Just then my husband told me to just keep going as it was only another hour or so to Lethbridge, and since it was colder now the snow on the road was too frozen to keep collecting under there. I was parked about where the semi’s trailer begins shown in the picture below.

BowIsland3

The older man interrupted us and said to me in the most calm, but matter-of-fact tone, “If you continue on like that you’ll get into an accident and you’ll all be killed”. I just stared at him, and I knew; I don’t even know how, but I knew that he was right. He pointed behind us and said, “You could wash it in the car wash right there. It won’t take long”. I agreed and he walked back to his car parked about 15 feet away. My husband asked “Who’s that?” I was looking down still trying to dislodge some of the snow and I answered it was a stranger that advised me to wash the snow off. My husband just said “ok, call me when you’re done”. I hung up and looked for the man, but he was gone.

BowIsland

I was puzzled as to where he went because the 15-20 seconds I was looking down wasn’t enough time for the man to walk to his vehicle, start it, roll up to the stop sign, stop, then drive out of sight. It’s the prairie and you can see from the pictures that there’s no way he would be out of sight in that short amount of time, plus it was cold, like -15 or so. I remember just knowing that I didn’t even hear a vehicle start and even if I did I would still see that vehicle driving away, but there was nothing!

BowIsland4

I started thinking about how odd it was that this person just blurted out what sounded like either paranoia or else (bordering on) rude intervention…only, it didn’t feel like that at the time. He was kind; his demeanor was that of a calm, rational individual. There was something else though, he was so peaceful. There was this feeling of pure peace that surrounded him and calmed me down. Anyone knows me knows that if a total stranger walked up to me and told me those things I would either be supremely paranoid and most likely respond with annoyance, but instead his peace soothed me. As I washed the van I kept going over what happened in my mind and I realized that I had an encounter with an angel. I know it! I know it as surely as I know my children’s names.

One thought on “I have Seen Angels, Part 1

Leave a Reply

